Hune assigned committee chairmanships once again

LANSING, Mich.—Sen. Joe Hune announced Wednesday that he will continue to chair the Senate Agriculture Committee, as well as the Senate Insurance Committee. Hune, R-Hamburg, has chaired both committees for the previous four years.

Coming off a victory for a second four-year term in the Michigan Senate, Hune has retained his post as the ranking member of the committee. Joining him on the Senate Agriculture Committee are three Republicans—Sens. Mike Green, R-Mayville; Wayne Schmidt, R-Traverse City; and Darwin Booher, R-Evart, as well as one Democrat—Virgil Smith, D-Detroit.

The Senate Insurance Committee consists of Republican Sens. Hune, Jack Brandenburg, R-Harrison Township; Schmidt; Margaret O’Brien, R-Portage; Ken Horn, R-Frankenmuth; and Rick Jones, R-Grand Ledge. Additionally, the three Democratic members are Sens. Smith; Steve Bieda, D-Warren; and Coleman Young, D-Detroit.

Upon hearing the announcement, Hune offered the following remarks:

“I’m humbled and honored to receive a second appointment to chair the Senate Agriculture and Insurance committees. These committees have brought forth great debate and produced legislation to continue to move Michigan forward.

“In the new term, my colleagues and I will continue our productive dialogue and will further champion legislation to improve job prospects and the economy for the residents of Michigan.

“On behalf of all the committee members, we are humbled and grateful that Senate Majority Leader Meekhof and the people of Michigan have seen us fit to serve another term on these great committees.”

Hune will also be a member of the Senate Regulatory Reform and Energy and Technology committees, and vice chair of the Senate Health Policy Committee.

The committees will meet, on average, once per week and meetings are open to the public. Committee times will be posted on the Michigan Legislature webpage at, or feel free to call Hune’s office at 517-373-2420 for further information.